One mile at a time…

I am back!

It’s been a great trip to California with lots of mixed emotions. And I can’t do all my emotions and adventures justice in one post, so I am going to post about all my adventures in chunks over the next few days.

Let me start today with why I went to San Diego.

Cancer is so limited…

I have been running with Team in Training for over 4 years and participated in 5 seasons as a fundraiser. This year I raised over $2,500. The reason why I come back year after year – even now that my team is in Texas and I am in London – is the people who are Team in Training and the cause.

When I started my first season with Team in Training in 2009, I didn’t know anybody who was affected by leukemia or lymphoma. But I was captivated by the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society whose mission is to cure cancer and improve the lives of patients and their families. 75% of their funds go to patient care and research. That’s a lot more than many charities do.

Over the past few years, I have gotten to know that many of my friends were affected directly and indirectly by leukemia and lymphoma and other cancers. So, there is no reason to stop fundraising now.

My jersey on San Diego showed 13 names.

Ruben – we were Team Ruben. Ruben passed away last fall. He was a dear friend of my Team in Training coach, Stephanie. Stephanie created Team Ruben to honor her friend and raise money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in his name. Our team raised close to $200,000 and LLS is naming a grant in honor of Ruben.

Jay – a friend and fellow Team in Training buddy, who was just diagnosed with lung cancer.

Rachel – a fellow Team in Training buddy, who was a member of our 2010 San Diego team and who has just learned about the relapse of her leukemia.

Peggy – a friend and Team in Training buddy, who is a breast cancer survivor.

Lisa – a friend, who is a breast cancer survivor.

Derek – a friend and Team in Training buddy, who is a lymphoma survivor.

Denis – my friend Chantal’s dad, who is fighting cancer.

Pierre – my friend Annabelle’s dad, who passed away this March fighting leukemia.

Antoine – a 7-year old boy, friends with Annabelle’s family, who passed away earlier this year fighting blood cancer.

Normand – my friend Alexandra’s dad, who passed away 3 years ago.

Darron – a friend, who passed away last summer fighting a brain tumor.

Andrea – my high school friend, a cancer survivor.

Julie – Sandi’s (flamidwyfe) friend, who passed away 7 years ago fighting CML.

I missed a few names on my jersey, but I will tell you about these awesome people as well.

Rose – fellow blogger happyhippierose, who is a lymphoma survivor.

Jackie – Peggy’s sister, who is a fighter. She was diagnosed with CML 7 years ago and with breast cancer 4 years ago. She keeps fighting and is an inspiration to all of us.

Cariann – a fellow Team in Training member. Cariann was part of our 2010 San Diego season. She was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer at the beginning of last year. The cancer was diagnosed late and the aggressive treatment was affecting her. Peggy and my friend Rob kept in touch with her when she moved back to San Diego to be with her family during her treatment. They invited Cariann to our Team in Training inspiration dinner in San Diego this past weekend. Cariann joined us and was thrilled to be there and share the evening with us. Very sad news reached me though on Friday as Cariann lost her fight against cancer and passed away.

There are many other people who deserve to be mentioned and I am sorry that I am missing some. Cancer is a horrible disease and we need to keep searching for a cure!

I will be back fundraising next year to honor survivors and to run in memory of those who lost the fight. We need to find a cure for cancer.

One mile at a time.

~ by Happy Runner on June 10, 2012.

4 Responses to “One mile at a time…”

  1. Reblogged this on Flamidwyfe's Blog and commented:
    People like Tatjana make blogging so amazing!

  2. Tatjana, I’m am very touched and so glad to have met you through blogging. I included Ruben in my donation for my run yesterday. You are absolutely right… We must find a cure!

Comments are closed.

 
carryoncouple

Living life with less baggage!

The Chocoholic Diaries

Living a healthy life topped with Chocolate!

@seeph

Semi-irregular musings on running, eating, drinking, football and whatever else I would like to bore you with

Stamped with a heart

Personal confessions of a twenty something drama queen!

The Happy Chase

blogging to stay positive and find the awesome in everyday life.

Headlong Running Betty

A working mom's passion for running and healthy living.

There is Beauty in this Universe

Click on each post to access collection...

Beauty , Art and Truth

Beauty inspires Art and Art Inspires the Soul's Truth

Mama on the Run

Counting down to 40, while juggling motherhood, marriage, the corporate grind & middle-of-the-pack running. It's OK to point & laugh.

I'm a runner and so can you

Running for the fun of it

Jonesin' for a run

Follow along as we run through life

The Nourishing Space

Inspiring a life filled with Nourishment.

Health, Happiness, and the in between Times

"For health and food for love and friends for everything thy goodness sends." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Marathon or Bust!

My Journey to Completing a Marathon

TartanJogger

Adventures in very slow running

BayRunner Jamie

Running*Travel*Adventure

No heels, just sneakers

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Jen's 4,000 Mile Journey

Inspiring and healthy running in London

The Blonder Side of Life

Welcome to the Blonde side where healthy living, fitness, and adventure go to live a happier life :)

Running From it All...

My adventures in running, eating, and living.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

