The one about flax seeds…

I need to preface this post. I ate some flax seeds yesterday. This morning I went to the gym for a 30 minute easy jog and ended up running 60 minutes. Must be the flax seeds!

I learned a lot yesterday. About flax seed. First of all it’s called linseed in the UK, so it took me a while finding it in the health store.

Next, I found out the it may reduce the risk of (WebMD):

  • diabetes
  • heart disease
  • stroke
  • cancer

Somewhere it says it may lower cholesterol, may reduce hot flashes and night sweat (good to know for a future me).

I am already sold. It’s a tiny little seed. Seems to have lots of strength.Even if it can only reduce one of these risks, it’s worth taking. There seems to be some discussion about its health benefits, so read up before you add to your diet.

It has three main ingredients:

  • Omega-3 fatty acids
  • Lignans (antioxidant)
  • Fiber

And you need to eat it ground not whole. Not more than 2 tbsp a day. Less if you are used to a low fiber diet.

I am going to start sprinkling this over my yoghurt, my smoothies, my protein shakes or salad. And if I do bake again, I may add, too.

Flat belly on the way… 😉

~ by tatjana.k on February 2, 2012.

2 Responses to “The one about flax seeds…”

  1. I want a flat belly too!! Ha, sounds like you had an awesome run!

  2. I need to look into that. It would be real easy to put on cereal in the morning. Another thing I’m taking is Black Currant Seed Oil capsules, I got it at the local nutrition store.

    From Wiki:
    Black Currant Seed Oil contains an unusually high amount of omega-6 (15–20 percent) as well as a high amount of omega-3 fatty acids (12–14 percent). It also contains linoleic acid as well as 2–4 percent stearidonic acid. There are some indications that black currant seed oil is anti-inflammatory and cardioprotective. In European folk medicine, black currant once had a considerable reputation for controlling diarrhea, promoting urine output (as a diuretic) and reducing arthritic and rheumatic pains. It is primarily used medicinally and as a diet supplement.

    I got 100 capsules for about $11 US

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

