Snow creaking

Coming home from the pub last night (yes, good carbs in a good beer!)  it started snowing again. We all got excited and I was hoping that the snow would hold up overnight, so I could do another run in the snow.

Lo and behold, there was a powdery layer of snow on the ground this morning. Perfect for another joyful fun run.

I love the sound of the snow as it creaks when you run over it. Beautiful. It was really peaceful this morning. There were swans on the river and a lone rower, some other happy runners and dog walkers. Just perfect.

Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.
~ John Ruskin

Snow along the river

~ by tatjana.k on February 10, 2012.

12 Responses to “Snow creaking”

  1. *smiling* Love it! And the pic is beautiful.

  2. Well that just sounds magical!

  3. I rarely run in the snow but as it’s only a thin layer I’m cconsidering it today for a nice slow run to enjoy the scenery.

  4. I love the weather quote too!

    So, as a tropical gal, I have some questions for you – when you run on snow, do you wear special shoes? Is there anything that’s different than trail or pavement running?

    I live in Hawaii now, but I’m moving to a cold cold climate soon. I’ve never gone running in snowy or icy conditions, but I’d like to.

    Any tips or advise would be great!

    • Sorry to hijack your comment but I have heard of special things that go over your shoes for running in the snow and ice called yaktraks. They are like special rubber grips but I have no idea how good they are. Personally I will only go for a snow run if I run it very slowly otherwise running quick can be dangerous. The snow compacts and turns into ice under your trainers and it can get very slippery. Also, you never know what is under the snow if it’s a fe inches thick so you need tto go careful you don’t roll your ankle. On a slow run you have more control and that is less likely to happen but you still need to take more care than normal!

    • The snow in London is pretty tame. The English like to think it’s gruesome and call an inch of snow “severe”. But let’s face it, that’s just a little play snow. I grew up in Germany and lived for 2 years in Michigan – I have seen real snow. 😉
      As to what to wear: in London with the snow we have had, I just go out in my winter running clothes. I agree with Michael, you have to to be careful. Even a tiny layer of snow hides the surface and you don’t know what’s underneath. It can be slippery. Best is to do a “scenic” run rather than a high speed run in the snow. Enjoy the snow, but leave the mileage for indoors or roads that have been cleared.
      For real snow running, you would need special running shoes.
      Ask a local runner when you move what’s appropriate. It will be a change from running in Hawaii. 🙂

      • Oh, when I move to western NY and I need snow advice, I’m so asking you. You’re a snow-pro!

        I think what scares me most is that deception… fresh snow hiding what could be underneath. And then of course, all the road damage that winter does, creating new potholes and what-not.

        Good looking out, thanks for the tips!

  5. What a lovely quote! I like that.

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

wholeheartyhappy.wordpress.com/

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

