A new running route and what’s the deal with frozen yoghurt?

This morning I ran a new route. No big deal you may think. Usually, I’d reply you are right, no biggie.

But I have been meaning to check out a circular route across the river – one bridge to another – for a year now. A YEAR!

No, it’s not a 12-mile route. In fact it’s just a 3.8-mile route. Actually a quite perfect distance.

The other side of the river always looked so far away. 🙂

Anyway, in the whole spirit of “doing” rather than “thinking”, I did. Loved it. The neighborhood is very pretty to look at, very little traffic on the road. Perfect.

So I got home all happy about my new route and decided to treat myself to a frozen yoghurt dessert that I made yesterday with bananas, honey and just a little bit of Nutella.

Well, I didn’t know that when you freeze yoghurt it’s not going to be like Ben & Jerry’s frozen yoghurt. Why not??? I needed to wait for it to defrost before I could eat it. It was rock solid frozen. I guess I need to experiment a little more. Any suggestions on how to make your own frozen yoghurt using unfrozen yoghurt?

~ by tatjana.k on February 17, 2012.

7 Responses to “A new running route and what’s the deal with frozen yoghurt?”

  1. I love your whole idea to “do” instead of “think.” I’m so glad your co-worker gave you that advice and now you’ve passed it on to us. It keeps popping into my head and motivating me.

    Also, you’re so funny! Usually I giggle aloud at least once during your posts. I like your sense of humor. And I’m American, so I’ll spell it our Yankee way. (Even though I’m a Southerner and we don’t go by “Yankee” too much!)

    As for the yogurt situation, I stopped eating dairy. I cut back on ice cream and yogurt, except for treats. Have you tried freezing bananas and then putting them through a food processor? It’s an amazing ice cream substitute!

    • Thanks so much for your kind words. I haven’t tried freezing bananas and then throwing them into a food processor. There is a thought… I could add some yoghurt then in the food processor… Yeah. I’ll try this out. Do I freeze the banana as a whole or cut them up first?

      • Peel them first, and then put them in a baggie or tupperware and freeze them. I don’t cut them up first, but I can’t see how that would hurt.

        I read that when you freeze them makes a big difference, and based on my own experimenting – I agree. Yellow bananas, with just a light smattering of spots = the perfect level of ripeness for freezing. It’s called “cheetah spots,” that’s the banana you want.

        If they’re too ripe, they’ll taste weird, not ripe enough and they’ll be firm and have less flavor.

        You can mix all kinds of things in there.

        I add a splash of almond or rice milk to add texture. Some agave sweetener, and then other frozen fruit that’s been blended too – berries are my favorites.

        You could just add regular yogurt in there. That could help circumvent the problem you’ve had freezing it. The bananas will still be cold enough to give you that “frozen treat” thing.

        But if you don’t want to eat yogurt or ice cream, the bananas emulate the texture of traditional dairy treats very well. They’re so smooth!

      • Thank you. I’ll give it a try and let you know how this goes. 🙂

  2. funny! I can picture your surprise and distress when you couldn’t get a spoon into your yummy treat!

    I have heard you can freeze “whipped” yogurt. I think it’s made by Yoplait, and it’s supposed to turn out like frozen yogurt- but I have not tried it.

  3. I remember trying to freeze a banana once – the “advice” I was given was that it would be like ice cream if you whizz it up from frozen – but had the same problem you did – rock solid! Turned into mush and was quite disgusting!

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

Sidhu Jetha

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mäm ɡēk/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

