10 miles and sticky GU

Yesterday, the temperatures dropped again hovering just above freezing, but the sun came out and the blue sky was just too inviting to get out there.

I found a new 8-mile loop through the park and then along the river. Actually, a very beautiful route that included a number of restrooms and opportunities to fill up the water bottle. I can’t believe I never ran this route before. It’s literally right on my doorsteps. I can vary the route to make it an 11-mile loop and 14-mile loop. Now, I have no excuses anymore for not doing long runs.

My friend and running buddy Y joined me. We ended up running 10 miles and I keep asking her to join me and S on the Edinburgh Half Marathon. The Edinburgh Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon is now only 8 weeks away and I am starting to get quite excited about it (especially now that I have found these great new running routes).

During the run yesterday I learned stuff.

First, I am not in shape yet for hills. MapMyRun gave my route a hill strength of “1” which is the lowest or easiest. There were some steady long-ish 1% inclines, but we had maybe a 500m stretch of about 3% incline and it nearly killed me. Once we reached the top I was fine again, but I really need to add more hill workouts and the treadmill runs don’t seem to do the trick.

Secondly, GU changes its consistency once it gets fairly cold. Well, mine wasn’t frozen, but really cold and it started to stick to my teeth and gum while I was trying to squeeze it out of it’s packaging. It had the consistency of toffee maybe. I hate the chocolate and coffee flavored GUs, but they might work well in the cold posing as sticky chocolate toffee… 😉

Miles run this year: 168 (not too shabby!)

Happy running week!

~ by tatjana.k on February 20, 2012.

13 Responses to “10 miles and sticky GU”

  1. Good job on the mileage so far this year, that’s a lot of miles already, well done 🙂

  2. Happy running week 🙂 I had no idea GU’s would get cold… thinks for the info!

    • I believe they can even freeze… I wouldn’t know really as I would be running on the treadmill when the outside shows GU freezing temperatures. 🙂

  3. I have a friend who keeps her Gu in her jog bra…I guess that would keep it warm! 😉
    And your route sounds so pretty!

  4. Finding a new route is great isn’t, it? A change of scenery really helps when things are prooving tough I’m going to give that a go this week!

  5. I have the same problem with GU. Do you have Hot Hands warmers? Put one in the pocket with GU and it stays warm. It also melted my lip balm, so don’t put it in the same pocket! Good job on your run!

Comments are closed.

 
challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

Smilewriter

break it or be broken... love it or try loving it.

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Run and Travel

"The most important thing is to enjoy your life - to be happy - it's all that matters." Audrey Hepburn

Living In Crimson

live.love.laugh

kStan(ly) kSays

graphic verse for grown-ups

Lead an inspired life

Success in business and life

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Linzy Leigh

SO what's it all about??

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Mom On The Go

Love Your Life

And then there was one

Just trying to figure it all out

writealineblog

By Obioma Ijeoma Ibe

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

B_ live

© Birgitta Rudenius

