Some cross-training thrown into my running

I have been a slacker when it comes to cross-training during previous running seasons. So this year I vowed to be better.

The legs, bums, tums class is one step into my cross-training; an upper body workout program done by a professional trainer in my gym is another step.

I noticed though that as weather has become more pleasant again, I am not stepping into the gym as often. And I am really not motivated to go there after a run outside. What I really needed was additional motivation to do some cross-training at home after my runs outside.

Valerie posted 14 Days of Workout-for Love Week! last week and I have been following this every day that I am not in the gym. I am on day 7 today, adding the kettle swing.I am going to try not to break a window or anything else in my living room…

Play not only keeps us young but also maintains our perspective about the relative seriousness of things. Running is play, for even if we try hard to do well at it, it is a relief from everyday cares.
~ Jim Fixx

~ by tatjana.k on February 24, 2012.

2 Responses to “Some cross-training thrown into my running”

  1. Hmm, I love cross training and sometimes find I have to sacrifice some when I need to up my miles, so I guess I don’t struggle trying to fit in other stuff. Classes are great for motivating you, and I’m lucky to have some great instructors that can make you enthusiastic even after a rough day at work.

  2. Nice job adding cross-training. I always have that as a goal for myself and end up just sticking to running instead! I’m not much of a gym girl, but maybe this summer I’ll try to add biking to my schedule!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

From home to roam

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

Her Heart Out

Thoughts of an unreasonable mind and irrational heart.

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

