​Being inspired

I am a volunteer for a couple of London Olympics volunteering programs. I am a London Ambassador and also a Sport Maker.

Yesterday I went to an information meeting for the Sport Makers program. Not sure what to expect I just showed up at Wembley Stadium.  I believe this was my first ever visit to Wembley Stadium, a reason alone to trek out there. The Sport Maker program has the goal of getting people off the couch and doing sports.

When I arrived there were very few volunteers only at the meeting. A teacher motivated her class of 16/17-year olds to join the program.

Granted, at first I was a little disappointed seeing very few volunteers and of those the majority being teenagers (I am not proud that I was this judgmental!), but then I started talking to some of them. One boy was into martial arts and he wanted to get some of his friends to join his sports. One girl wanted to be healthy and motivate her friends to be healthy by engaging in sports. One boy recently moved to London and wanted to get involved into the Sport Maker program to be part of his new community. One boy wanted to run a marathon. One boy came over to talk to me and thank me for being involved in charity fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. He overheard me introducing myself as a marathon runner who runs for charities. One of this boy’s relatives is a cancer survivor.He wants to motivate his friends to live an outdoors and healthy life.

All my initial hesitation about the evening just slipped away hearing the stories of these young adults and how they hope to make a small difference to their immediate community and friends. I was so inspired at the end of the evening that I vow to make my participation in the Sport Maker program count.

I don’t know what your destiny will be, but one thing I do know: the only ones among you who will be really happy are those who have sought and found how to serve.
~ Albert Schweitzer

~ by tatjana.k on February 28, 2012.

7 Responses to “​Being inspired”

  1. Cheers

  2. P.S. I hope you don’t mind me ‘re-blogging’ you to my blog! I thought I’d pass on the inspiration! x

  3. Further to my last comment, I ran with your inspiration and Googled ‘Sport Makers’ and discovered that this is not exclusive to our wonderful capital city, but is a national scheme. I’ve signed up with Sport Nottinghamshire and will be attending my first meeting on March 23rd!
    I’ve also downloaded the information from Run England about their Leadership in Running Fitness courses (http://runengland.nemisys2.uk.com/page.asp?section=38&sectionTitle=Leadership+in+Running+Fitness+course) and think I might sign up for the one in Burton on Trent on 14th April (the week before the big London Marathon, but will be a quiet training weekend!) so that after M-Day I’m all set and ready to start inspiring others in my local area and maybe set up my own ‘joggers and plodders’ running group!
    I have enjoyed ‘Being Inspired’ by you today! Thanks
    Cat xx

  4. That sounds like it was a great evening. I sometimes wished I lived in London with all the opportunites you have to get involved in things like this. But I’m a northern country girl at heart! It’s nice to read your posts though and see what I’m missing out on! Will look forward to hearing more about your involvement with the Sport Makers……

  5. Wow… it really drives home the point that we shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover. Sounds like a great bunch of young adults!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

wholeheartyhappy.wordpress.com/

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

