Frozen yoghurt – or a trip to Ben and Jerry’s…

Well, I am not a master chef, but I get by in the kitchen. The things that I can’t figure out are the ones that intrigue me. You may remember my first attempt on making frozen yoghurt with… wait for it… gasp… with yoghurt!

Some of you commented on trying to freeze bananas and then whisk them up when frozen. The texture and taste would be similar to frozen yoghurt.

It sounded like a great idea (I like bananas). The only thing is that I don’t ever follow recipes fully, so I took your advise on freezing bananas, but…

I added some… wait for it… gasp… yoghurt. But really, only like 2 tablespoons full of yoghurt. Bananas were still the main base. Then I added some almond butter and some honey. Whisked it all up and put it in the freezer. Doesn’t it sound just delicious?

DON’T TRY THIS AT HOME!

No, you won’t break anything, but you won’t get frozen banana-yoghurt either…

Frozen solid it comes out of the freezer again. Defeated I asked my friend Google for help. Google came back with the following suggestions:

  • Freezing yoghurt doesn’t make frozen yoghurt. Geez, thanks, Google, we got this far…
  • You’ll need an ice-cream maker or frozen yoghurt maker.
  • You could try whisk up a yoghurt/fruit base, then put it in the freezer, but take it out every hour and whisk again. Apparently, this will make it a little smoother (sounds like a lot of work to me).
  • Or you whisk up your yoghurt/fruit base, then add ice and keep whisking and when cold enough serve straight away. Don’t freeze. This one sounds like the best option if you want to eat it straight away.

I may just keep chipping on my solid frozen yoghurt and once gone head out to get some Ben & Jerry’s. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Monday!

Being happy doesn’t mean everything is perfect. It means you have decided to look beyond the imperfections.
~ Author Unknown

~ by tatjana.k on March 12, 2012.

11 Responses to “Frozen yoghurt – or a trip to Ben and Jerry’s…”

  1. GIRL! YOU HAVE BEEN NOMINATED KREATIV BLOGGER! CHECK IT OUT:
    http://rundogcat.me/2012/03/13/you-take-a-few-days-off-and/

  2. haha I love that. The recipe sounds delicious so hopefully it melts fast so you can enjoy it! I’ve never tried to make frozen yogurt but I would probably just buy Ben & Jerry’s and call it a day.

  3. You had me chuckling with your experience! Very frustrating I am sure. Maybe you can improvise – buy frozen vanilla yoghurt and and the bananas, almond butter and honey. Semi-homemade?

  4. I like to put frozen strawberries and bananas in the blender with about a half cup of unsweetened almond milk and a bit of greek yogurt and mix it up. It tastes like a sorbet or frozen yogurt. You can refreeze it, then just leave it in the fridge for a little while when you want to eat it again and it will soften up. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sounds like an idea. Will put my frozen solids in the fridge next time before I want to go and chip at them. Thanks for the tip. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Who knew that frozen + yogurt โ‰  frozen yogurt!

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mรคm ษกฤ“k/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

