Tempo and interval runnning

A confession: I love tempo and interval training.

You may think this girl is a little loco… But really, I am not. ๐Ÿ™‚

It brings such a variety to my running and has actually made me run further. The other day I went to the gym to do 3 miles of tempo running and ended up running 6 miles again… (I am starting to see a pattern…). Not loco!

Because I like tempo and interval runs so much I am sharing with you my Top 5 taken from a variety of sources including Runner’s World and my Team in Training coach:

  1. straights and curves – easily my favorite. Run on a track: 5k pace on the straights and a little slower on the curves (or 100 meter 5k pace / 100 meter slower if you don’t have access to a track).
  2. long tempo countdown – I did a variation of this one the other day and loved it. 4 miles @ 15 minutes slower than race pace, then 3 miles @ race pace, 2 miles a little faster than race pace, then 1 miles with all you have got left.
  3. ladder – 400 meter – 600-800-1000-800-600-400 all at a little faster than 5k pace with 200 meter rest in-between.
  4. bannister – 10x400meter at mile race pace with 90 seconds rest.
  5. power hills – 12×30 seconds uphill sprint. Jog down for recovery. Or check out the hill blaster for treadmills.

I will be doing a lazy run today, going to visit the palm trees. ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Wednesday!

~ by tatjana.k on March 14, 2012.

7 Responses to “Tempo and interval runnning”

  1. You are so right, tempo and speed work make such a difference! I have learned to love these workouts myself (the hill repeats are great to boost performance, but they are so uncomfortable… don’t tell me you like those as well?! ๐Ÿ™‚ ). When I started doing these kind of workouts once a week, my long run pace started rapidly improving. Another good one is the Yassos 800s (http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-244-255-624-0,00.html).

    All you need to improve rapidly any type of distance is one of these workouts a week …..

    • Do the Yasso 800 also work for half marathons? I give it a try. Heard of them, but never used them for training. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh boy! Not those strange Palm trees again?! lol. Keep having fun!

  3. I really like straights and curves too. I’m not real sure about the rest? Keep on having fun!

  4. Thnk you for sharing! I will give a few a try.

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mรคm ษกฤ“k/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

