On being kreativ…

The other day I was nominated for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Thank you, Terri Lee, for nominating me.

I wanted to give this nomination the time it deserved, so it has taken me a little longer than I thought it would. All right, and then there was work to do, runs to run, concerts to sing along to…

I did a little research on blogging and found that there are 6.7 million bloggers in this world who post on blogging sites (not including social networking sites). I found some stats at NielsenWire that I wanted to share with you:

  • Women make up the majority of bloggers, and half of bloggers are aged 18-34
  • Bloggers are well-educated: 7 out of 10 bloggers have gone to college, a majority of whom are graduates
  • About 1 in 3 bloggers are Moms, and 52 percent of bloggers are parents with kids under 18 years-old in their household
  • Bloggers are active across social media: they’re twice as likely to post/comment on consumer-generated video sites like YouTube, and nearly three times more likely to post in Message Boards/Forums within the last month

Now you may think, why do I bore you all with this?

I thought there were some interesting gems hidden in the data. The data suggest (not confirmed though) that the majority of bloggers are busy people: young professionals (assuming from the age range), probably have a busy career (assuming from education),Β  parents with young kids. But all of us find time to blog!

Does this mark a new development in our life priorities? Do we all want to express ourselves more, be creative along the way and make new connections, find time to find ourselves even?

Our age of technology has been condemned by so many as the age where people stop talking to friends, stop being creative, stop doing exercise, but rather spend a lot of time in front of a computer in isolation, not moving, not talking.

I don’t see this here. I see the opposite:

  • people expressing themselves
  • people sharing ideas and thoughts with many more people than ever before
  • people taking time to be creative and learn new skills (yes, setting up a blog and even writing are all skills)
  • people building a real community and meeting each other face to face (I have read a number of stories where fellow bloggers met up at a race. I hope to meet some of you too at a race some day)
  • people encouraging each other to get off the couch, to live healthy, helping each other through a sad phase in their lives…

Therefore, I think all us bloggers out here who are sharing real life stories deserve to be awarded for making a difference in our communities, in our lives.

Now back to the Kreativ Blogger Award and endless thanks to Terri Lee for nominating me and giving me a pause to reflect on what we are all doing. If you are not yet reading Terri Lee’s blog Run.Dog.Cat.Me, now is a good time to start. Her stories about well, running, her dog, her cat are hilarious and every so often she throws in an illustration (where do you get the time to be this creative?). πŸ™‚

There are seven rules to accepting the Kreativ Blogger Award:

  1. You must thank the person who has given you the award. (check) Kreativ Blogger Award
  2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog. (check)
  3. Link the person who has nominated you for the award. (check)
  4. Name 7 things about yourself that people might find interesting. (done)
  5. Nominate 7 other Kreativ Bloggers. (done)
  6. Post links to the 7 blogs you nominate. (done)
  7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs to let them know they have been nominated. (working on it)

(now you know why it took me a couple of days….)

7 things about myself people may (or may not) find interesting:

  1. I don’t like fish or seafood. The only “fish” I eat is fish fingers (or fish sticks) and I find them delicious. Why don’t they count towards my healthy seafood intake?
  2. When I was a teenager I used to run track. I wasn’t any good, but I enjoyed it. I hated long distance running then and every run longer than 400 meters was considered long distance… Who would have thought I would ever run 26.2 miles?
  3. I love reading. I love the smell of books. One day when I build my own house it will have a library. I have been reading for as long as I can remember… I am currently reading The 100-mile Diet.
  4. My first language is German. I was born in Germany and grew up there. My family still lives in Germany. I have moved around though, many years in England and in the US.
  5. I love all kinds of music. Music cheers me up. I think my favorite bands are alternative rock bands, among them The Fray, Snow Patrol, The Killers, Plain White T’s, Augustana. If I have a chance to go to a concert I will go…
  6. I have been thinking about how to make healthy eating a lifestyle. Occasionally it becomes really difficult. When I visit my family I WANT to eat my mom’s cooking. She is a great cook. Whenever I head out to Austin, TX ,I WANT my TexMex and my BBQ fix. I love chocolate. Now I am prioritizing. I eat healthy when at home and stop fretting when I go off the healthy eating plan for a few days. I hope I can maintain a healthy lifestyle.
  7. I want to write a novel one day. And that’s why I started this blog. Not that I want to write a novel about running and eating healthy. But I kept talking to my friends about wanting to write and they just didn’t want to hear it anymore. So I stopped talking and thinking and actually DID! One day, I’ll even make a start on my novel.

7 Kreativ Bloggers – In no particular order. And as I said above, we all deserve an award for building this blogger community!

MedalSlut – she made me embrace the shorter runs again

Right on Hereford, left on Boylston – I am living the Boston Marathon vicariously through her blog

Hungry Healthy Happy – because that’s how I mostly always feel: hungry, happy and healthy

Whittle my Middle – she comes up with the most kreativ recipes

Finding my happy pace – that’s what my winter headband says: “finding my happy pace”

Lill and Jill – they crack me up and now I am craving poutine again

Jog on Jules – even though she was making fun of my dear palm trees

Happy weekend! πŸ™‚

~ by tatjana.k on March 17, 2012.

12 Responses to “On being kreativ…”

  1. I love this post — thanks for the stats. I certainly fall into the “category”

    cheers!

  2. Awesome post and congrats on your award πŸ˜€

  3. Great post! The stats were interesting and we have a lot in common. Looking forward to reading more.

    • This is pretty much exactly what I was going to say πŸ™‚ especially with regards to #2 – I ran track in middle school and hated anything beyond even the 200. And look at us now! And with #3 – I work in a library, and sometimes it’s too much (re: the smell of books; old ones are my favorites), but in a good way.

      Congrats on the nomination!

  4. Thank you!. I can see why this post took you a while πŸ™‚ I look forward to writing my own post about this πŸ™‚

  5. Cheers for the lovely shout out and nomination! In thanks (and so you won’t have to run across the sea) we hereby send you a virtual plate of poutine – enjoy the empty calories and thanks again! …L

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mΓ€m Ι‘Δ“k/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

