The pressure of a bib number…

Today I received an email with my bib number for Saturday’s 10k.

Up to today I thought of this race as a great training run on the way to the Edinburgh Half Marathon next month. But with the email this morning everything changed. Sigh.

My bib number is 5.

I have never ever had a single-digit bib number (or a double-digit for that matter). There is so much pressure that comes with these low bib numbers.

Do people expect me to win the race or at least come in within the first 5 runners? I mean that is what I usually expect for runners with low digit bib numbers… “Oh yes, his bib number is 11, so he must be REALLY fast”.

Darn. I am not fast. I am hoping to run this race in around an hour (preferable just under like 59:59). That won’t take me anywhere close to the lead runners. And I am not aiming to be there.

But with the bib number 5 I feel compelled to run my fastest ever. So I need to come up with a revised race strategy.

  • Will there be a shortcut opportunity (oops – thinking out loud. You didn’t hear this!)?
  • Maybe the functional training class that I did this morning will give me magic running powers?
  • Or a magic fueling strategy? Need to look into this… brownies and hot chocolate seem to be doing the trick lately…
  • I heard there are running shoes with springs. That could work…
  • need to check which of my running gear is most aerodynamic…

Well, I will wear my bib number 5 with pride finishing first (HA!) or last!

Happy Running!

In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.
~ Fred Lebow, New York City Marathon co-founder

~ by tatjana.k on March 21, 2012.

21 Responses to “The pressure of a bib number…”

  1. Good Luck on your race! I am doing a 10k in just under 2 weeks and I am hoping to come in under and hour as well. I know here, it has to do with the group you put yourself in as we have about 50,000 people do this race and it goes by estimated time when you register, and the numbers are assigned in that manner. No pressure…just have a fabulous race.

  2. You will do great….I never knew bib numbers associated with faster pace. Interesting now that you point it out! Want to hear another bib number story. My sister had the number 666 assigned to her bib for a half marathon in VA. She broke her foot in that race. Now that is a bad bib number! Things could be worse I guess! Good luck and try not it get to you mentally =)

  3. Try doughnuts…or a jetpack…or maybe just pimp your 5 like it’s the coolest number since 4…perhaps this will be your BEST race ever – and it will all be because of the 5 and not 171 or 356 (who needs them anyways?). Regardless, the 5 means what you WANT it to mean and we think it’s saying you’re all kinds of awesome and that you’ll finish under that hour with minutes to spare! πŸ˜€ …L

    • After everyone’s encouraging comments, I am feeling pretty good about the bib number 5. It will be an awesome race, thanks to you all. And my running buddy S better get her fast shoes on…:)

  4. Wow, I’ve only ever had double digits, and I felt enough pressure to perform with that! Best of luck getting under an hour on your 10k, I’m sure you’ll manage it no problem! πŸ™‚

  5. You’ll do great! Looking forward to hearing all about the race!

  6. No, you don’t have to be within the top 5 with your bib number. I guess top 10 would be OK. πŸ™‚

  7. Ha! I get that! Good luck on the 10k…the best thing about running is that it is an individual sport, the only person’s time that you have beat is your own. Please, update after the race, I’m sure you will do great!

  8. ALWAYS run your own race. and then eat brownies and drink chocolate milk πŸ˜‰ haha. Good luck this weekend!

  9. MMMM….brownies and hot chocolate!! Good luck this weekend!

  10. I know what you mean about the small bib number, but I think you’re being a bit silly by revising your race plan. If it was meant to be a fun training run, then keep it that way. Don’t stress out because you got a single digit bib number.

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

From home to roam

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen fΓΌr die unkomplizierte KΓΌche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

Her Heart Out

Thoughts of an unreasonable mind and irrational heart.

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

