Inspiring… SportRelief Mile in London

I cannot express the gratitude that I feel for having had the opportunity to volunteer at the SportRelief Mile event in London. It was such an inspiring event.

A million people took part in SportRelief Mile events across the UK this past weekend raising over £52Million for charity thus far.

Handing out medals at the SportRelief Mile in London

I had the honor of giving a medal to one of the JLS guys. I am probably now hated by thousand of British teenage girls… (JLS is a UK boy band for those not in the know…). I also saw Richard Hammond and his family getting their medals. That was a treat since I am a huge TOP GEAR fan. The cast of the stage show SHREK passed our medal stand and plenty of other celebrities who I didn’t recognize.

However, the real stars of the event were the 20,000 people (a million across the country!) walking, jogging or running the 1, 3 or 6 miles in London . I have never handed out medals at an event before, but the joy and excitement of people receiving their first ever medal was infectious.

The smiles of children receiving their first ever medal was priceless.

I am so happy having been part of this event. Some of you have also taken part in your communities. Jules completed her first ever race! Awesome! MedalSlut got her friends out to run the race. Well done.

Just imagine the personal accomplishments to many during this weekend and the amount of money that was raised for charity! Just imagine all this goodness to ourselves and to others that was created!  What a weekend!

There is in each of us so much goodness that if we could see its glow, it would light the world.

~ Sam Friend

~ by tatjana.k on March 26, 2012.

5 Responses to “Inspiring… SportRelief Mile in London”

  1. You must have had an awesome time, I know I did! I will definately be taking part again next year or maybe volunteer. Thank you for all the support you have shown me on my running/blogging journey, you have been great!

  2. Good job!

    Cheers

  3. awesome! I don’t think there is anything like that here. My husband loves Top Gear! and great pic too!

    • Thank you. 🙂 You can tell your husband that Richard Hammond looks better in real life than on TV – but that may be only because he just finished running and maybe I have a thing for sweaty runners?? Now, I think, that warrants a whole blog post… 😉

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mäm ɡēk/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

