Experimenting with… chia seeds

A while ago Poppy’s Style (don’t forget to check out her blog!) commented on my blog about my new favorite energy source (brownies) and told that she just ordered chia seeds.

Completely oblivious to fad foods and trends (and, yes, I have read Born To Run, but are you expecting me to remember every single line in the book… ;)), chia seeds didn’t really make it into my head until Poppy’s Style’s comment.

Last week in the health store, I saw them, chia seeds. So, on a whim I just bought a bag, having this faint memory of someone recommending them to me.

The bag has been lying on the kitchen counter for nearly a week now until today I was brave enough to try them. I am not always the most attentive reader, so all I remembered that if you put them in water they expand and you can then drink them. So I put a tablespoon in water.

chia seeds after about an hour in water...

And waited.

It looked like this about an hour later. I was busy, so I couldn’t check online how long you are supposed to leave them in water before drinking…

I waited another 4 hours. Actually, I worked another 4 hours before I even remembered that they were still waiting for me…

They expanded a lot more. Then I drank them. They are pretty tasteless. That’s not a bad thing. Now I am waiting to see what happens next (if you are not seeing a post from me over the next 3 days, DON”T TRY THIS AT HOME… I am just saying…).

I’ll do some research and will tell you more on what is happening. These are some of the supposed benefits:

  • Provides energy
  • Boosts strength
  • Bolsters endurance
  • Levels blood sugar
  • Induces weight loss
  • Aids intestinal regularity

Interesting article in the Huffington Post in case you want to read more.

Happy Tuesday!

 

~ by tatjana.k on March 27, 2012.

17 Responses to “Experimenting with… chia seeds”

  1. LOL, It appears you have survived the experiment 🙂

  2. I love chia seeds, I add about a tablespoon to my post workout smoothies and they help make it nice and thick. Also nice in granola and yogurt or top of oatmeal. Never tried them “straight-up”

  3. If I recall my Born to Run Gospel correctly, the Jenn Shelton School of Running also calls for 38 beers to wash them down. I’m guessing they’re much more palatable at around beer no. 6.

  4. For more information about chia seeds, and some recipe ideas, check out my website: http://www.chiativity.org

    But FYI, you should really stir or shake your seed and water mixture so that the seeds don’t clump together.

  5. ah… yes! A co-worker of mine swears by these things and drank some of them while I was visiting his office a couple of months ago – I’m interested in your opinion of them!

  6. I am not sure I could anything that looks like frog spawn o.O

  7. I put a scoop of chia seeds in my Greek yogurt every morning. I eat it before my morning workout. No taste and feels a little gelled, but very good for you! I notice I feel full longer while exercising. I used to be starving after a swim when I only ate the yogurt. Haven’t tried water – looks terrible!

  8. I’ve never had chia seeds. They look just too unappetizing! I know some people mix them into smoothies. I should really try them….

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

wholeheartyhappy.wordpress.com/

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

