Kingston Breakfast Run: we belong…

Yesterday, my running buddy S and I ran the Kingston Breakfast Run. it was actually a really good race. Meant to be another training run in preparation for the Edinburgh and San Diego races. The goal was to run the 8 miles in half marathon goal pace. Check!

Kingston Breakfast Run: my running buddy S and I

The day started off with S and I wondering if we belonged into this race… I don’t think I have ever been to a race where I couldn’t spot a Superman, a running banana or someone in a pink tutu. Everyone looked super fit and super athletic. There were a lot of running club jerseys. It was a little bit intimidating… at first.

Then the start went off and S and I got going. We comfortably stuck with the running club crowd falling into an easy pace. I was surprised how easy the run seemed. I averaged a 10.08 minute/mile pace, but felt I had a lot more power in me. In fact, this was actually a faster pace than last week’s 10k. As we crossed the finish line, S and I definitely knew: We belong!

A mark-down on the race is that there were no port-a-potties on the route. It was a 8/16-mile race running the 8-mile course either once or twice.

the trophy

That seems to be quite a distance for not providing loos. The other thing I wasn’t too impressed with was the water-stops. There were 2 on the route, but they were just too close to each other. It felt like they were close to mile marker 4 and 5. That just didn’t help with hydration.

On the plus, the route was great. Flat. It was very well organized (bar the missing toilets and the water stops) and the Whole Foods goodie bag wasn’t too shabby.

No medal though, but a mug as a commemorative trophy.

13 days to go to the Edinburgh Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon! YEAH!

~ by tatjana.k on April 2, 2012.

10 Responses to “Kingston Breakfast Run: we belong…”

  1. well done!!

  2. Well done to you both! I know what you mean about the feeling that you belong thing…I don’t feel like a real runner…yet ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Well done both of you! Feeling that you belong is so important. I’m really pleased that you do! Good luck in Auld Reekie! You’ll enjoy that, I’m sure.

  4. I’m so jealous of all the runs you get in big cities! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen fรผr die unkomplizierte Kรผche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

