Unplanned tapering…

Only 4 days to go until the Edinburgh Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon.

I am getting a little nervous this time. I wasn’t planning on tapering much, but instead using the Edinburgh race as a hilly training race on the road to the San Diego Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon. I knew the trip to Budapest would provide a little tapering, but I wasn’t prepared for the cold weather in Budapest (darn you again, weather.com!) and came home with a serious cold. No running since Saturday and definitely no running today either. Hopefully, tomorrow I feel well enough for a very easy run – really to just remind my legs how it’s done…

The unplanned home rest gives me way too much time to check out the elevation chart for the Edinburgh race. The long hill miles 4.5-7.5 look brutal. Mile 8.5-9 won’t be my favorite either… It looks though like it will be a very pretty course running up to the castle. I shall pack my camera.

Hope my cold passes quickly and the extra rest will make me full of energy for those fun hills!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy resting!

What distinguishes those of us at the starting line from those of us on the couch is that we learn through running to take what the days gives us, what our body will allow us, and what our will can tolerate.

~ John Bingham

~ by tatjana.k on April 11, 2012.

12 Responses to “Unplanned tapering…”

  1. Feel better, you are gonna do great ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel it!

  2. Sometimes rest is what you need ๐Ÿ™‚
    It’s good to listen to your body… You’ve trained hard and it will pay off. I look forward to your update after the run!

    • Thank you! I hope it works this way. I never had a week of rest before a race. I will enjoy the scenic race no matter what! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh No! What a time to get a cold…Get well soon! My ‘cure’ for a cold is honey and Lemon, made with Lemon juice, Honey to taste topped up with boiling water and then add VODKA ๐Ÿ™‚ to taste (mine is usually at least a double measure) By the time I ahve drank it I do ot care that I have a cold ๐Ÿ™‚

    By the way…You are awesome! ๐Ÿ˜‰ you know why…
    Good luck for the Rock ‘n’ Roll xx

  4. M favorite running quote! Rest up, that is the most important thing right now. And chicken soup!

  5. REST! And good luck!!

  6. Don’t worry about unplanned rest – hope everything sorts itself out for Edinburgh on Sunday! I’ll (happily) be running the Glenlivet 10k instead – complete with a shot of whiskey at the end! They say whiskey is good for colds….. Just saying. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Hope you feel better soon – take care of yourself!

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

Sidhu Jetha

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mรคm ษกฤ“k/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

