My current BRF: the foam roller

Sorry, S and Y, but right now my foam roller is my BRF (best running friend).

After the Edinburgh Rock ‘n Roll half marathon I needed a few days off which I took with smiles. However, today I got back on the horse so to speak or better: back into my running shoes.

I went for a slow recovery run around the block. And, oh my, could I hear my IT band cry.

So back at home out came the foam roller and it wasn’t pretty.

But as BRFs do, they tell you to suck it up. ๐Ÿ™‚ So I did! Feeling better already and will go for some more later.

In case you are not sure how to use a foam roller, here is a video that explains foam rolling.

Happy rolling!

~ by tatjana.k on April 19, 2012.

7 Responses to “My current BRF: the foam roller”

  1. I would give my EYE TEETH for a foam roller… can’t find one here in China… even though they are probably MADE here ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I hear you! The foam roller has been my BRF too for the last week! My left IT band has been threatening to ruin my London marathon attempt for the last 3 weeks since my last long slow run of 19 miles, and without the foam roller I’m not sure I’d be even making it to the start line! I’m also in love with my Physio, my patellar support band, diclofenac and pasta!!! You go girl! Roll that IT band into submission!

  3. Ah… Foam roller, how I love thee. I suggested foam rolling to a friend who is training for a half, and her husband (a former lacrosse player) responded: “If you want to experience the worst pain in your life, foam roll.” Haha

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen fรผr die unkomplizierte Kรผche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

