Of deer, sprinklers and dead snakes…

Running in Austin is always a treat for me.

Since I left Austin nearly 2 years ago, I have been missing my running friends and running routes (my other friends, too) and all the small little running encounters.

This weekend I am lucky enough to catch up with all of Austin. (well, some of it).

I love seeing the urban deer in the neighborhoods and running with them. Yesterday’s 12-miler took us to a neighbor hood where all streets had the same name and all housed looked the same. I have never run here before, it was just mind-blowing that we didn’t get lost (or for that matter that people who live there, find their home every day…).

We started the run very early in the morning with clouds, a little wind and humidity that was surprisingly not bad (coming from London where most mornings I wake up to humidity over 90%). The sun broke out and it got fairly warm and I want to thank the people who put on their sprinklers early in the morning so that we could run through to cool down. (Sorry for mocking your neighborhood!)

The run went great, chatted with team and as we were trotting along, the conversation was like “blah blah blah dead snake blah”. Eek. I don’t like snakes. Dead or alive. I totally freaked, jumped about 6 feet high to not step on the dead snake. I didn’t even see it until my friends warned me not to step on it. Note to self, keep eyes on road and watch out for dead snakes. Surprisingly something I don’t do in London… 😉

Great run with the team, great conversations and a mini adventure – a perfect weekend run!

Happy running.

 

~ by tatjana.k on May 6, 2012.

6 Responses to “Of deer, sprinklers and dead snakes…”

  1. Austin is one of my favorite cities! Glad you are enjoying yourself. I thought London didn’t have snakes… Or did St Patrick only chase the out of Ireland? 😉

  2. I’m so jealous!! I can’t wait until I’m back in Houston in October! Hope you’re enjoying your holiday!

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mäm ɡēk/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

