Be warned about pre-flight margaritas…

It’s been a weird week.

I traveled back from Austin, TX to London on Monday/Tuesday. And let me tell you what maybe not to do.

As I was waiting for my flight from Dallas back to London and already missing my Austin friends (yeah, guys, I miss y’all), I looked down at the complimentary drinks ticket I got in the AmericanAirlines lounge. And thought, “what the heck”.

So, I ordered a last margarita for this trip (more margaritas on my next trip). Now, I have had my share of margaritas, but this one was out of the ordinary. A full pint glass of margarita and I am not sure what was in it, but after a few sips I was already all happy with the world (well, not quite happy about leaving my beloved Texas…, but you know what I mean). By the time I finished the drink and reached the gate, I was drunk!

I don’t know how drunk, but the guy sitting next to me on the 9-hour flight avoided all conversation with me… I fell into a drunk sleep before we even rolled away from the gate. I woke up for dinner and then… of course… I couldn’t sleep for the rest of the flight. I sobered up at this point and was totally mad at myself. I am usually a good sleeper on a long flight and don’t suffer from jet-leg (mostly).

AA didn’t show good movies in the cheap seats, so I finally settled for the Iron Lady and was happy I didn’t see it in the theater. Meryl Streep is great, but I don’t like the way the movie portrayed one of the most powerful women of her time. You may not agree with her politics, but she is a female pioneer in politics.

I am digressing though…

Not having slept much during the flight made me arrive in London pretty groggy. I threw all my own rules out of the window and took a daytime nap and set myself up for bad jet-leg. I have been working night hours this week (most productive time of the day) and slept all pre-lunchtime morning hours.

I am blaming the margarita!

So, be warned! Very potent margaritas in the AA lounge in Dallas, Use this piece of advice however it works for you…

I have only been out for a short very slow run today and am tackling 10-12 miles tomorrow. I may be walking some. But hope the fresh air (no rain this weekend in the forecast!) will blow my jet-leg away.

Happy Running!

~ by tatjana.k on May 11, 2012.

6 Responses to “Be warned about pre-flight margaritas…”

  1. I understand your margarita pain…very, very well – hope you’re recovered now though! πŸ™‚ …L

  2. The sun is shining for you! Have a great run and I hope you wake up feeling great today!

  3. Great advise πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mΓ€m Ι‘Δ“k/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

