In need of miracles

This week is not only a week of smiles.

Last week, a friend of mine was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer. I have known him for over 4 years and he has been a running buddy for my very first half marathon and a few subsequent races. He has been relentlessly running and fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society for many years and we are Team in Training buddies. We were supposed to meet up in San Diego. His name will be on my San Diego jersey. He will find out about his treatment options at MD Anderson in Houston hopefully this week.

Today, I received news that another Team in Training teammate has been diagnosed with a relapse of her leukemia. When I met her and her mother in 2010, she just finished her treatment and was in remission. They both ran the San Diego Half Marathon with our team that year. She graduated from High School in 2010 ans started university that same fall. She is now waiting for a bone marrow transplant but hasn’t found a match yet.

So, as you all go out running today and this weekend, please send a few prayers or thoughts to all those suffering from cancer and other ailments and in need of miracles.

Quietly running today.

~ by tatjana.k on May 18, 2012.

15 Responses to “In need of miracles”

  1. So sorry to hear about your friends. Sending positive thoughts and warm wishes their way…

  2. I will be running my first 1/2M tomorrow. Will think of you and your friends.

  3. So brave ..

  4. I am very sorry to hear about your friends. Prayers going up here! Good for you for the team in training and fundraising you are doing. Best of luck!

  5. Can you post information on how to get involved with LLS Team In Training please? I would love to get involved and think it is wonderful how dedicated you are to LLS. I am sorry to hear about your friends and will keep them in my prayers.

    • Thank you, Shannon. Team in Training (http://www.teamintraining.org/) participants are focused on fundraising to make a difference to cancer patience. Team in Training offers structured endurance training (marathon, half marathon, cycling, hiking, triathlon) for all its participants. There are training groups all over the US and Canada. I am in my fifth season with Team in Training. I have made many new friends who are participants and it has been the best experience for me for running and fundraising. Check them out if you are in the US or Canada!

  6. I am sorry to hear of your friends’ illnesses. Will be praying.

  7. Will run for them today. Also, I encourage all runners to register for your country bone marrow network. Typically a country’s network is part of the world wide network and the more people on it the higher probability a match will be found. Ask your family and friends to register too! You can be the one person in the world who could save a persons life.

  8. I will have both in my prayers. Cancer, yuck!!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

From home to roam

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

Her Heart Out

Thoughts of an unreasonable mind and irrational heart.

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

