Race report: British 10k

I know, I know, it has been 10 days and I haven’t had a chance to write my race report yet. I am shocked myself…

I was in desperate need of vitamin D and decided to elope for a few days to experience some sunshine and do nothing but hanging out by  the beach. It was bliss.

Back to the British 10k.

Actually, most of the action is before the race. The race starts on Piccadilly close to the Wellington Arch near Hyde Park. Getting there is a 1.5km walk from the bag drop area. This in itself is not that bad, even though with 25,000 runners (or how many made it out in the rain) that takes a while. Foolishly, I thought I was in the front half of the pack, there were so many people behind me, it was crazy. The whole of Piccadilly was just full of runners. And it’s a long road…

Running in the rain – I don’t think I look happy… 🙂

I am not quite sure if this was a royal guard brass band or just any brass band, anyway, they marched down Piccadilly right before the race and made it all look proper British… (it is the British 10k after all).

I was in a great position to see the start of the elite runners. In fact, I was in perfect viewing position seeing them set off. It was quite fun and I wished I had a camera… oh well…

Then came the long wait until I finally reached the start line. As I was just about to get started the announcer said that the first finisher reached the finish line. Nice…

The race itself was pretty uneventful. It rained. I got wet. I wasn’t too happy about that. At mile 5.5 someone run into me and he knocked my GPS watch off. He didn’t break it, but the watch stopped and I didn’t notice until a few minutes later. I don’t want to say it was a pushy race, but there were some inconsiderate runners out there… more than usual… might have been the weather. I get it. Rain makes me cranky, too.

British 10k medal

The best part of course was getting my medal at the end. That’s what I ran for after all. 🙂

I might skip this race next year. It is way too pricey for a 10k, but then again you get to run on Piccadilly, through Trafalgar Square, along Embankment and ON Westminster Bridge. Big Ben actually rang 11am when I passed it. Maybe it isn’t that bad after all. And I believe a lot of the course is similar to the Olympic Marathon course.

So, I did it! I ran the Olympic Marathon course. LOL.

~ by tatjana.k on July 17, 2012.

6 Responses to “Race report: British 10k”

  1. sorry I missed you! Enter the BUPA 10000 instead – almost the same course, but much better organised

  2. Good for you! It stinks that the race was so pricey, but the route does sound amazing after all!

  3. LOL’d at the elete runners finishing before you even got started. Twenty-five thousand runners! Like the entire City of London got up and went for a run in the rain!

  4. Awesome!!

  5. Nice medal! I’ve read about three different posts on the race, nearly all criticising the organisation and the price too. I’ve heard that this is nothing new and other years have been bad too. But you did it so yay!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

From home to roam

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

Her Heart Out

Thoughts of an unreasonable mind and irrational heart.

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

