Olympics musing… or how to support your team…

I do know a bit or two about marketing.

But this one – seen in a London Underground train car – baffled me yesterday:

British Airways ad in the London Underground

A company, British Airways, whose livelihood depends on people flying using this airline says:

DON’T FLY!

I am all for supporting your team, but at all cost? I am sure BA will be ok and will be flying plenty of people around during the Olympics, but still…

Or maybe the purpose of this advertisement is another: get people talking about the airline? Darn it! I just fell for it.

Considering also that the majority of people traveling on the London Underground are probably not supporting Team GB but other teams, this is an interesting choice of words. Shall I fly if I don’t support Team GB?

I don’t want to read too much into it, but given the location of the advertisement (London Underground) that is frequented by a very international group of  “locals” and travelers in one of the most international cities in the world, I find this an odd choice for British Airways.

I also find the suggestion “watch the Olympics on TV” a little sad… but that’s besides the point… (for those of you outside London, you need to know that there are many Olympic events that can be attended without tickets and there are several public viewing parks throughout London where you can watch the events on big screens – so why stay at home?).

This ad got me talking, maybe that was the goal. I certainly will be looking at advertising in the London Underground more closely now.

Happy flying… or… staying at home! 🙂

~ by tatjana.k on July 22, 2012.

9 Responses to “Olympics musing… or how to support your team…”

  1. That is a super weird ad! Especially the blatant sexual overtones with the image choice.

    My initial reading of it is that in London, if you’re watching the Games and yelling loud enough, since you’re geographically close to the athletes – they could hear you!

    The ‘don’t fly’ thing is so weird though. Wouldn’t you want people to fly into London on BA for the games?

    Is there a movement of people who aren’t Okympic enthusiasts who don’t care for the crowds and games who will be vacationing during the games to get out of Dodge?

    • I agree with you on the sexual overtone… They are people leaving the city and the country (but they wouldn’t see the ad anyways since they most likely will have made plans already…). I find it odd enough that I would love to ask the BA campaign manager “What were you thinking or smoking?” 🙂

  2. There’s not much else to look at besides the advertising. Not making eye contact seems to be an art form.

  3. The idea of their campaign is that they will take you wherever you want to go – after the olympics!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

