Olympic Torch Relay – River Thames

Being able to see the Olympic torch relay several times has been amazing. It makes me feel I am part of the Olympics. Yesterday I got to see the very final leg of bringing the Olympic flame to the Olympic stadium.

The Olympic flame traveled along the river Thames all the way to the Olympic stadium. I was lucky enough to view this right up close from Chiswick Bridge.

It was a beautiful seeing the Olympic flame on the river. The boat that carried the flame was the Royal Barge Gloriana that I mentioned in a previous post. It was also the boat that lead the jubilee river pageant.

Olympic torch relay coming towards Chiswick Bridge

As the Olympic flame was traveling towards us it was first held in the Olympic Couldron (I think that’s what it’s called) at the front of the boat.

You can see the flame up front in the Olympic Couldron

And somewhere between this picture and the next the torch bearer took the flamer over from the Couldron to the torch.

The way we saw it from the bridge was like this: one moment we saw the big flame, the next moment it was gone…

The torch bearer took the flame over

…but then a moment later as the barge came closer we saw that the torch bearer held it.

Olympic torch relay on river Thames

And a final close-up of the Olympic torch. The flame has to compete with all the gold on the royal barge. you can hardly see it, but it’s there!

Olympic torch relay on river Thames

Then the barge passed under the bridge. We risked our lives crossing the street to see the Olympic flame make its way further along the river on this very last leg of its journey to the London Olympics 2012.

Olympic torch relay leaving Chiswick Bridge

The torch relay was such a beautiful way to be part or at least feel part of the Olympics 2012. I got a little carried away at the end, but do I know if I ever get to do this again?

“A once in a lifetime event” is an often cited – and in my opinion overused – phrase. But I can truly say this felt like a special moment (or moments for that matter… LOL) – being there for a part of sporting history.

Here is my last photo of the Olympic flame floating down the river Thames on the Royal Barge Gloriana.

It was an amazing experience!

… and the Olympic flame is on its way…

~ by tatjana.k on July 28, 2012.

One Response to “Olympic Torch Relay – River Thames”

  1. How amazing!!!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

