Olympic Hockey at the Riverbank Arena

Yesterday I watched my first ever hockey game.

at the Olympic Riverbank Arena

In fact, it was my first Olympic hockey game, too. And we got to see TWO matches. It was a winning day all over. 🙂

Of course, a few months ago I thought I got tickets for ice-hockey (silly me!), but luckily my friends were there to point out my “blonde” moment. LOL.

Hockey is being played at the Riverbank Arena and if you are going to see matches there, just make sure you come to the Olympic Park well in time – the Riverbank Arena is way back. It is an outdoor arena, which can be tricky in the British weather, but we were lucky again. Sun all over.

The first match (my first ever hockey game!) was Korea versus New Zealand. It was a tame game. Not much offense going on and Korea ended up winning the game well deserved.

at the Olympic Riverbank Arena as the Korea – New Zealand game started

After the game the winner took their victory lap:

the Korean team thanking the fans after their victory

The second game did the sports of hockey proud!

the South African and Australian teams before the hockey game

Australia versus South Africa. I believe Australia is the current hockey world champion and they showed it. This was not a tame game. THIS was what I expected from hockey (and ice-hockey). Lots of run-ins, players on the ground, bad language, arguments with the referees, goals taken away. If this had been ice-hockey we would have seen blood, but the blue field didn’t show…

Australia beating South Africa 6-0

Australia beat South Africa 6-0. BUT – not knowing a thing about hockey – 5 of these goals were given after penalty shoots (either corners or straight penalties). I thought that was a bit weak (now, I am probably going to be beat up by my Aussie friends…LOL), but maybe that’s the strategy of the game: getting into penalty shoot situations..

the Australia team on their victory lap

It was awesome! And I am a new hockey fan. I want to watch this all the time now. I will be working on seeing an ice-hockey game this winter! 🙂

The Riverbank Arena also had a great view of the Olympic Stadium and of the office blocks at Canary Wharf. Not as exciting as the game, but worth showing.

the view from the Olympic Riverbank Arena: the Olympic Stadium and Canary Wharf

Happy Olympics!

~ by tatjana.k on July 31, 2012.

3 Responses to “Olympic Hockey at the Riverbank Arena”

  1. I love the colors! It makes my eyeballs feel happy.

  2. Looks so exciting! I would have thought ice hockey, too! LOL

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

