A sunnny men’s Olympic marathon

What a difference a week makes. No umbrella this time, but sunscreen. The men’s marathon was in perfect weather to watch ( a little hot to run really…).

I struggled this morning to get up. 3 weeks of following first the torch relay then the Olympics are taking its toll. I was debating whether to even go and watch the men’s marathon live or stay in and watch on TV. But I knew I was going to go and watch it live. This was my last Olympic event to watch live (at least for 4 years…), so no question really.

I made it to the Embankment just in time. With a little maneuvering I managed to get to the front of the crowds and found myself right at the aid stations. Have you ever seen the aid stations of an elite-only marathon?

Well, this is what the Olympic marathon aid stations looks like.

Of course it goes all the way to the right as well. Oh and the stations are arranged in alphabetical order in case you wondered…

The pace car with all the reporters announced the arrival of the runners.

It’s quite a sight, right?

Again, the Olympic marathon route followed 2 loops of which the longer one was repeated 3 times. This was the order of runners with just 7 miles to go. The 3 runners made bronze, silver and gold – just in a different order than seen at this point in the race.

Stephen KIPROTICH from Uganda (who you see on the right won the marathon). The Kenyans, Abel KIRUI and Wilson Kipsang KIPROTICH, came in second and third.

And this is how a successful hand-over of a water bottle happens – at least with the South African team. Some other teams weren’t quite this successful.

After the lead runners passed me by a last time I made my way to Trafalgar Square to see if I can have a peek into the finish area on The Mall through Admiral’s Arch.

I didn’t see much and the elite runners were already through, but the flags looked nice.

I can’t believe that’s it for the Olympics. Luckily, I still have tons of photos to share over the next few days. And soon the Paralympics will start. I have quite a few tickets for the Paralympics and will be back in the Olympic Park a number of times.

~ by tatjana.k on August 12, 2012.

3 Responses to “A sunnny men’s Olympic marathon”

  1. I finally got to watch it last night…I avoided any news. What an incredible race!!! SO awesome you got to watch it!!

    • That must have been hard avoiding all news. It was an incredible race and I understand that this was only the 4th marathon the winner from Uganda ever run!

      • It wasn’t as bad as it could have been trying to avoid it since I woke at 3:45 to get a race set up, then ran 10 miles, went to breakfast and ate blueberry pancakes, got home and showered, took a nap and then did some work and laundry. Since hubs was at the office the TV wasn’t on, either. He did great! I can’t imagine how proud he was to win for his country.

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

Sidhu Jetha

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mäm ɡēk/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

