A day out at Weymouth for Olympic Sailing

You may remember that I won tickets for the Olympic Sailing. Not just any sailing, but the women’s final and the last day of Olympic Sailing.

My running buddy Y joined me and together we made the journey to Weymouth on the coast, a 3-hour train ride from London.

It was a beautiful day, a perfect day out really.

I don’t know much about sailing, but I didn’t expect this much drama. 🙂

The first race was for the bronze medal. Finland versus Russia. The simplified rules are that the first team to win 3 runs wins the race. There are a maximum of 5 runs per race if both teams keep alternating between winning and losing a run.

Finland and Russia needed 4 runs. The timetable of the day dictated that the final – the race for gold – would start at 1.30pm. That meant during Finland’s and Russia’s 4th run, they were joined by the teams racing for gold, Spain and Australia. Here you can see all 4 teams:

Eventually Finland won the 4th run (which was their third winning run) and was awarded the bronze medal. But not without protest over a false start by the Russians first…

While Finland and Russia were still working out their protest, Australia got into trouble. Woman over board.

It took the team quite a while to get their third woman back on board and Spain sailed off in the meantime. All back on board.

It was a great day. Lots of people out here in the ticketed area. There was no allocated seating. It was beautiful to sit on the grass and enjoy food and drinks while watching the sailing.

Lots of seagulls flew by.

We were sitting next to this lovely lady who let me borrow her camera lens for most of the day. She was awesome. And I learned I really want a new lens.

Back to the sailing… As I said full of drama. Australia recovered quickly from their little incident and won the next run. Now, the teams had completed 4 runs. each team won 2 runs. The next run would be the final run and determine who would get gold.

Australia got into a little pickle again. No no, they didn’t fall overboard again, but received a penalty for getting too close to the Spanish boat. Spain used the advantage and sailed across the finish line (red and yellow buoys) for gold.

Then they celebrated and thanked the fans.

The Olympic Sailing in Weymouth was a 2-week event and the Royal Navy secured much of the event and made sure it was safe for athletes and spectators. They got a huge applause from all the spectators as they took a “victory lapse” across the bay. This was an amazing sight!

Y and I decided to skip the long lines for the train back and stay a while longer and have a look at beautiful Weymouth. It is a very pretty seaside town. It was colorfully flagged for the Olympics and invited to stay. So we had a drink… with a view of the harbor.

On the way back I caught an evening picture of the gorgeous Jurassic coastline and the beach.

This day out was a wonderful day and I am so glad I won these Olympic tickets. I would have never thought of buying sailing tickets. On a day like this, you can easily put aside all the clutter in your head and just enjoy what’s right in front. 🙂

~ by tatjana.k on August 13, 2012.

4 Responses to “A day out at Weymouth for Olympic Sailing”

  1. Super pictures – and not too far from my area! Glad you enjoyed it!

  2. LOVE this!

  3. Great pictures and results for team GB!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

From home to roam

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boring Bug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am.

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

Her Heart Out

Thoughts of an unreasonable mind and irrational heart.

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

