Paralympics Day 2 – Equestrian

My second set of Paralympic tickets were for the Equestrian (dressage). The Equestrian events are held in Greenwich Park which is a beautiful location. We were very lucky and caught a sunny (though cold) day.

When I was a young teenager I loved horse riding. I grew up in a region where horse riding is a major sports (on my recent trip to Germany, one of my cycle trips with my dad took us to a restaurant in a forest that had a ‘horse parking’ area, where you could secure your horse  while you enjoyed a drink. This, naturally, brought up the question about drinking and horse riding. Can you lose your driving license while horse riding under the influence? But I am digressing…).

So as a teenager I took every opportunity to watch dressage competitions and there were plenty where I grew up. I am pretty sure I knew then how points were given and could spot a top competitor. At some point in my life my brain must have thought that this is pretty useless information and not needed. I really couldn’t tell much about how points were given during the Paralympic event. However, that didn’t take away from the competition.

The first rider was the German athlete Lena Weifen. She came in 7th overall.

Her German support team was easy to spot. I need to get one of these hats for Rio 2016, but which one? The cowboy hat (would go well with my Texan pride)? Or the Seppelhut (the traditional Bavarian style hat, but then I grew up in Northern Germany, so back to the cowboy hat…)?

The Equestrian event was general seating, so after the break, we decided to switch seats to get a different view of the event With the Royal Naval College and the skyline of the Docklands in the background.

Again, I was very impressed and moved by the athletes. One of the riders was blind and as blind rider she was allowed to have her coach shout out when she reached certain points in the arena. Sophie Wells from Team GB won the event in our session.

The last  horse (with Australian rider Hannah Dodd) decided to leave a present for the Games Makers during her performance, which the Games makers had to scoop up afterwards.

We were wondering if the Games Makers played rock, paper scissors to decided who needed to scoop?

After the event we walked up the hill in Greenwich Park to the Royal Observatory to check on the view of the Equestrian arena. This is one of my favorite views of London.

You see the Equestrian arena in front with the Royal Naval College right behind. To the right the O2 Dome (or Millennium Dome as it was called originally, but called North Greenwich Arena during the Olympics and Paralympics – confused yet?). The Docklands are in the middle/left. And if you look really closely, maybe squint your eyes a little, you can the Olympic Stadium peeking out. Focus your eyes on the right top corner of the seating area of the Equestrian arena, then move your eyes up and in the little gap between the tall skyscrapers in the background you can see the Olympic Stadium looking out.

~ by tatjana.k on September 1, 2012.

One Response to “Paralympics Day 2 – Equestrian”

  1. Love the panorama photograph. I think that might be taken from near when the London marathon starts? It looks familiar!

Comments are closed.

 
Der kreative Stift

Inspiring and healthy running in London

Women's Inspiration to Health and Fitness

To inspire women to feel better and be healthier

P O S T C A R D S

- THE TRAVEL BLOG -

The Sophisticated Travelers

Honest Insight About Travel

Rachel Simmonds

Health and Wellness

The Walking Mermaid

Eco-friendly, planet loving, adventurous family of 4 exploring the world we live in one tiny baby step at a time.

simplykathieann.wordpress.com/

My life and loves in one place

Paul Greer

(Animation, etc)

The Nomadic Architect

its a wonderful life ...

Wilbur's Travels

Travel blog about the amazing places I have been and those that I would still love to visit.

Damn, Girl. Get Your Shit Together.

Unsolicited advice for shit you didn't know you were doing wrong

MICHENN

Introvert In The City

the traveller.

''My personal experience as a traveller. Follow my blog and it may just inspire you to become one. "Don't tell me how educated you are,tell me how much you travelled."

ms. diplomacy

photography

LOVE, NIA SIMONE

MUSIC, FASHION, & LIFESTYLE

Empowering and Uplifting

Create Your Own Happiness

Disoriented Mom

Keeping it real as a real working mom

Mom Geek Blog

/mäm ɡēk/ (n) a mother who is knowledgeable or obsessively interested in a subject or activity

Travel HAN-ter

Traveling HAN-in-HAN

