Healthy choices

The events of this summer have let me stray away from my healthy habits. In fact, I found that healthy eating is probably not a ‘habit’ of mine. I have been indulging in way more sugary and fatty foods than I actually like eating. Though it’s easy to blame circumstance, I know that these are  my daily choices and I didn’t always make the right choice.

I gained some weight, I feel sluggish, I have been fighting nasal congestion that may or may not be allergies. And this right here is my motivation to make better choices.

My struggle has always been to make healthy choices a habit. It works well in my normal routine. But as soon as I travel or break my daily routine for other reasons, I fall off the healthy habit wagon. This is what I need to change.

The funny thing is as soon as I eat a well balanced diet I don’t ever feel any need or hunger for foods that are bad for me. This is what I need to remember!

Here is what I am focusing on for the next 4 months:

  • cut down on unrefined carbs – no more bread!
  • eat organic wherever possible – fruit, veggies and meat.
  • eat LOTS of fruit and vegetable. Go for 7 a day!
  • use nuts and fruit as snacks.
  • don’t eat any processed food.
  • only eat lean meats.

My biggest challenge will be not eating any bread and eating more veggies and fruit. I’ll be solving some of this through introducing more fruit smoothies and finally trying veggie smoothies.

To making healthy choices!

~ by tatjana.k on September 12, 2012.

5 Responses to “Healthy choices”

  1. Right with you. I’m good until someone wants to go somewhere (right now in the US all the county fairs are on….bad, bad, bad. I have absolutely no willpower when it comes to food). That’s why I eat all my meals at home, and have banned snacks from the house. I also found keeping a food diary a big help … I keep track of total calories (and cholesterol) in, versus calories expended. Looking forward to seeing your progress…good luck!

    • Thank you! I used to keep a food diary and I may go back into doing so. I like your idea of eating all my meals at home. That works until I travel again at least. 🙂

  2. Here, here! I know you can do it! I think with all the sports you’ve been running around to see eating on the go is easier 🙂 I look forward to hearing your updates!
    I love that you’ve listed your goals out… I use lists all the time to keep me on track!

Comments are closed.

 
The Not Quite Fairy-Tales of Elle Beau

I am Elle Beau, the Anti-Blogger. I am a former MLM hunbot, and I'll tell my tale to you in my own whimsical way...

Hike Mt. Shasta

Exploring the Mount Shasta Region

Sober In Vegas

seeking sobriety & mindfulness in sin city

Kenneys See America

Exploring National Parks, small towns, and scenic lands in our Airstream

The Fit Formula

Musings of a triathlete/health nut/engineer

Being in the Wild

Mindfulness and Nature Meditation

Solo Hiker

Solo hiking is an amazing challenge. Let's go!

Passepartout

Gillian & Howard - around the world in as long as it takes

Coconut & Cucumber - Lieblingsrezepte

Kulinarische Geschichten. Rezeptideen für die unkomplizierte Küche mit frischen, saisonalen Zutaten - einfach und doch raffiniert.

Up Before Dawn

Kicking butt before the sun comes up!

Just Writing!

A place to improve my writing skills, and that's all.

Boringbug

Cogito ergo sum- I think therefore I am

wholeheartyhappy.wordpress.com/

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Life with Jess

Living LIfe Single, Sassy, and Joyfully!

challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer - Just a wife and mother of two!

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

