My secret ingredients

I grew up eating home made meals. My mom cooked every day. I never saw a pre-packaged ready-to-eat meal until my early twenties and I moved to the UK. Other than salads and sandwiches while on the go I have never  bought a ready-to-eat meal that just needs heating up in the microwave. With one exception that is. Lasagne. I tried ready-to-eat lasagne and didn’t like it. This stopped me from ever trying another pre-packaged meal again.

My mom is a great cook. Though I never wanted to learn all her recipes (she is a very traditional German cook using lots of potatoes, heavy meats and heavy sauces), I picked up how to change the taste of a meal easily through using different herbs and spices.

And I am not afraid to experiment with herbs and spices.

Yesterday I cooked one of my favorite easy meals: Texas Chili. It takes about 5 minutes of preparation, 10 minutes of cooking the meats and then just 45 minutes of mostly unsupervised simmering. To me that is E.A.S.Y.

In case you are interested in my recipe, you need to be open to experimentation as I use “eye” measurements rather than real ones.  Meaning I can’t tell you exactly how much meat or canned tomatoes I use. I make sure they are in proportion.

  • I import this whenever I visit Austin, TX

    1 onion

  • 1 red or green or yellow pepper
  • tomatoes
  • minced meat
  • canned tomatoes
  • rapeseed oil
  • salt to taste
  • pepper to taste
  • Texas Chili Seasoning Mix

Use a tablespoon of oil and heat up in a large pot, add diced onion. Once onion look “glassy”, add meat and cook until it’s done (I always make sure my meat is properly cooked, maybe I am a little OCD, but works for me). Then add diced pepper, diced tomatoes and spices. stir properly and then add canned tomatoes. Let simmer to reduce water for about 45 minutes. Voila!

Chili done

The Texas Chili Seasoning Mix is my favorite. Might be because it brings back memories of living in Texas (smell triggers memories quite well). I am sure other chili mixes will work, too. 🙂

And since my mum taught me to experiment and use spices to alter taste, you can pretty much use the same recipe and exchange the chili seasoning for paprika, Italian herbs, oregano, basil, parsley, chives and you have a Sauce Bolognese.

Next, you leave out the minced meat and you have a basic tomato sauce. 3 recipes in one.

I usually end up cooking about 4-5 portions. I eat one, one goes in the fridge for the following day and the rest goes into the freezer. So, it might take an hour all in all, but per meal you are down to 10-15 minutes…

Don’t tell me cooking is hard! 😉

~ by tatjana.k on September 13, 2012.

3 Responses to “My secret ingredients”

  1. Umm sounds good, may give that a whirl…..

  2. That sounds good and I’m not really a chili fan. Is the mix not available in the UK?

Comments are closed.

 
challengingsingle

Single and challenging myself

Positively Un-broken

Using creativity and humor to build strength and redefine "broken"

A Wife and Mother of Two

I'm Not A Writer

Leigha Robbins

A picture, some words and a bit of harsh reality

Smilewriter

break it or be broken... love it or try loving it.

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Run and Travel

"The most important thing is to enjoy your life - to be happy - it's all that matters." Audrey Hepburn

Living In Crimson

live.love.laugh

kStan(ly) kSays

graphic verse for grown-ups

Lead an inspired life

Success in business and life

Julie Powell - Photographer & Graphic Artist

Creating & Capturing Life's Precious Moments

Linzy Leigh

SO what's it all about??

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Mom On The Go

Love Your Life

And then there was one

Just trying to figure it all out

writealineblog

By Obioma Ijeoma Ibe

Writers Envy

A Quest For Emotional Insight

B_ live

© Birgitta Rudenius

